The Committee

Chairman – Linda Fiddes

Welcome again to the 415th year of the annual Riding of the
Bounds 2024.
We hope you enjoy looking through our program which is full
of information on our events throughout the past year, with
some photos past and present of this long standing tradition,
and of course details of our sponsors, friends, supporters and volunteers without whom this event would not be able to be held every year. This historic event is organised by the Berwick Riders Association, a very small group of dedicated volunteers who work tirelessly throughout the year to raise funds and to promote our amazing town throughout the borders and raise awareness of the event within Berwick itself. On behalf of myself and the committee, I hope that you enjoy it and have a fantastic day out.
I would like to wish our 2024 Chief Marshal Caitlin a fantastic year in her post, enjoy every moment
and trust me, you blink and it’s over! Wear your sash and rosette with pride! We know you will give
100% to this role and will make yourself, your family and the town of Berwick very very proud.
We are also delighted to welcome Millie as our right-hand principal. You are just beginning your
journey, enjoy it, this three-year post is one you will never forget, you will make life long friendships
and create memories you will always treasure.
This event as you can imagine takes a lot of planning and funding and it would not be possible without
the continued support of the committee, friends, sponsors, local businesses, Landowners, and
volunteers. I would like to thank every single person who has contributed towards the day. Please
remember to use local businesses when you can as without them supporting us, events like this just
couldn’t go ahead.
We would like to express our huge thanks also to Michael & David at Shiel & Morrison Printers for
not only putting together our brochure every year but also for all the printing they do for us with our
school projects and all the help they give us achieving our crazy ideas sometimes.
The committee wish to also extend their gratitude to the following for their assistance: the people of
Berwick, the Freemans Guild, The Freemen Trustees, our town mayor Mr Robertson, Berwick Town
Councillors, Northumberland County Council, Simpsons Malt, Madeleine Knight, Michael Herriot,
Andrew Smith, Berwick Pipe Band, Rapid Reaction, Isobel and all the staff at Northern View who
have helped us massively with our fund raising events.
We owe a huge thank you also to Galedin Vets for providing us with a vet and following our ride F.O.C
to make sure that our beloved horses are well looked after and safe on the day.
I would also like to extend our gratitude to our ride and road marshals who give up their own time to
ensure a safe day for all, thank you guys for your continued support.
On behalf of the committee, I would like to wish every rider taking part. Safe Oot, Safe In.

Postholders 2024/25

  • Chairman – Mrs Linda Fiddes
  • Vice Chairman – Mrs Courtnay Forster
  • Treasurer – Mrs Elizabeth Horn
  • Secretary – Mrs Laura Hunter & Mrs Janet Grant
  • Ride Liaison Officer – Mrs Lorraine Stark

Other members

  • Rebecca Tait
  • Graeme Stark
  • Kelly Rae
  • Caitlin Grant
  • Millie Hope
  • Joe-Ann Rigby
  • Bethany Innes
  • Steve Lowdon